– Back to Bicycling

The Chief Geek returns to Bicycling - click to enlarge

The Chief Geek returns to Bicycling - click to enlarge

I’ve previously blogged about my bicycling accident on June 3rd, my hospital experience at Harborview Hospital (aka Seattle Grace Hospital of Grey’s Anatomy fame), recovery and observations about the whole experience including the technology involved.   Today – September 3rd – I bicycled home for the first time since the accident.   New bicycle, new helmet (the old helmet was untouched in the accident), new pack, new stainless steel holding together my shattered right arm.   The arm is about 80% – still can’t lift more than about 10 pounds, still hurts, still doesn’t extend all the way, but on the way to a full recovery in about a year.

Thank you Harborview, Dr. Roberts, Aaron the Physical Therapist, the crew of Fire Station 36, and modern medical science!

P.S.  The new bike has disc brakes.

Leave a comment

Filed under bicycling

Leave a comment